0036 The Swan Inn is Meltham's oldest surviving inn, established by the Garlick family as early as the 1730s. The family were local butchers and the earliest recorded name — the Shoulder of Mutton — reflected their profession. The name was changed to the Swan Inn between 1803 and 1817 by John Garlick, possibly to avoid confusion with the Shoulder of Mutton Inn was situated on the proposed Lockwood and Meltham Turnpike Road (now Huddersfield Road) at Lockwood.
How we used to live: more stunning images of Huddersfield in 1960s and 1970s revealed by Civic Society
Click on our gallery to see evocative shots of Huddersfield as it was around half a century ago
0124 The Isle of Skye Hotel which was up on the moors on Greenfield Road further on from the Huntsman Inn. It was closed in the 1950s because effluent from the building was contaminating the new Digley Reservoir. The hotel then burnt down and was demolished in the 1960s.
The Isle of Skye Hotel. Meltham, Huddersfield. The Isle of Skye Hotel, also known as the Wessenden Head Inn, is shown on the 1854 6" O.S. map. The pub stood opposite the point where the Meltham and Wessenden Head Turnpike joined the Greenfield to Shepley road, and this junction is a likely reason for its construction. The road from Meltham opened in 1835, and the style of the building would seem apt for any time after that date.